Courage… I Never Rode a Roller Coaster

I have found that the older I get, the harder it gets for me to muster up the courage to have certain experiences in life like riding a roller coaster for instance.  The reasons behind this lies to some extent in the fact that as a child, I led a very sheltered life, not allowed to be out of my parents sight; not encouraged to venture out and experience things, taught to be reasonable and rational and not to take “foolish” chances.  I got my driver’s license when I was in my 30’s for goodness sake! Now, I don’t blame my parents for all of it. I mean, I think I got comfortable in the perception of safety that was created by limited existence and experiences. Now that I think about it, I realize that my courage at its best resides in my character, in my ability to see it & say it like it is, in my ability to forgive and ask for forgiveness, in my ability to say this is who I am and to love you for who you are … who knows, maybe a roller coaster ride is in my future…..…NOT!!

Leave a Reply

